(Bengal Economic Association) Estd. 1980
Home | Executive Committee | Announcements | Programmes | Contact Us
  Bangiya Arthaniti Parishad has uninterruptedly been performing its academic activities in the fields of publication, seminar and conference for more than last twenty-four years since its inception in 1980. Prof. Satynendra Nath Sen, the former Vice-Chancellor of Calcutta University, was the founder President of the Parishad. By this time our Parishad has become a name not only in Bengal but also in different parts of India and even in many parts of the world. The glory of Bengal Economic Association can be traced to its footprint in the national and international perspectives. That a regional association like ours is active and pathbreaking may be recongnised from the patronage of the Indian Economic Association Trust for R & D and also of several senior economists of India and abroad. We are extremely happy to note that Dr. Manmohan Singh, the then Governor, Reserve Bank of India, who inaugurated the Sixth Conference of the Parishad at R. K. M. Vidyamandira, Belur Math in 1986, has now become the Prime Minister of India.

Our Parishad feels proud of being associated with the International Economic Association as an Associate Member since the Delhi World Congress of the Association in 1986. Since then our representatives have been participating in the World Congresses of the International Economic Association and attending the Council Meetings (Athens 1989, Moscow 1992. Tunis 1995, Buenos Aires 1999, Lisbon 2002 and Marrakech 2005).

The total number of life members of our Association is now 488 and some more are expected to join our family. Amongst our members is Prof Partha Dasgupta, Prof of Economics, Cambridge University, who had been honoured as 'knight' and made an FRS for his contribution to economics. Another member of our Association, Prof P. R. Brahmananda, had been unanimously elected Honorary President of the International Economic Association at the 13th World Congress held at Lisbon. Unfortunately, he passed away in 2003.

Dissemination of socio-economic ideas through our quarterly referred journal 'Artha Beekshan' has been the fundamental objective of our Association. The journal was initially titled, 'Arthasastra' and it started its journey in 1983 and continued upto 1991 when its name was changed to the present one for registration requirements. From 2002-03 we have been publishing annually four issues of our journal. The first issue of volume 13 will be released during the seminar.

The Parishad has instituted in 2001-02 "Dr. S. R. Sen Best Book in Economics Award" from the donation made by Dr. Sen himself. The third award had gone to Dr. Ajit Narayan Basu, Professor of Economics (Retd). IIT, Kharagpur for his book ‘Paschim Banger Arthaniti o Rajniti’ (2nd Ed). The fourth such award for 2005-06 will be declared soon.

The Parishad has also instituted since 1993 an award for young economists in the memory of Professor Panchanan Chakraborti, the 3rd Conference President of the Parishad. The 12th such award had gone to Prof. Soumyen Sikdar of Calcutta University for 2004-05. This year (2005-06), the recipient is Prof. Anindya Sen of IIM, Kolkata.

In addition to the Journal, the Parishad is regularly publishing edited volumes. It had published six volumes so far including festschrifts for Prof. Dhires Bhattacharyya and Prof. Alak Ghosh, our past presidents and Dr. S. N. Sen Memorial Lectures based on the lectures delivered annually in the memory of Dr. S. N. Sen.

The Parishad, in collaboration with St. Xavier's College, Kolkata, a premier educational institution organized a whole day silver jubilee seminar on ''Twenty five Years of the West Bengal Economy.

The 24th Annual Conference was organised by Rishi Bankim Chandra college, Naihati, an important place of West Bengal, having a long heritage. The year "2004-05" was the Silver Jubilee year for our Parishad. The Silver Jubilee Conference, that is, the twenty fifth annual conference, took place at St. Paul's College, another premier educational institution of Kolkata.


FEBRUARY 18-19, 2012

Artha Beekshan

Membership Forms


Designed by : Braindrops