(Bengal Economic Association) Estd. 1980
Home | Executive Committee | Announcements | Programmes | Contact Us

32ND Annual Conference of BEA will be hosted by the Department of Economics, Maulana Azad College, Kolkata -700013
during February 18-19, 2012.

Professor Ramgopal Agarwala will be the Conference President. The themes of the technical sessions are (1) Agrarian Crisis in India , (2) Industrialization in West Bengal, (3) International Capital Flows, Economic Growth & Development. Last date of submission of papers on any themes above along with CD to the President, Bengal Economic Association , Department of Economics, Jadavpur University, Kolkata-700032 is November 30, 2011 at selected shall be printed in the conference number of Artha Beekshan. Current Topics Sessions : (a) Approach to XII Five Year Plan, (b) Census of India 2011. Delegates requiring Accommodation for the conference days should contact Professor Santanu Ghosh , Secretary BEA and Head, Department of Economics,Maulana Azad College, Kolkata -700013.

Bengal Economic Association



09.30- 10.30 A.M. : Registration
10.30- 13.00: Inauguration Programme : ( College Auditorium)
Welcome Song
Welcome Address : Local Organising Secretary
Welcome Address: Principal MAULANA AZAD COLLEGE
Felicitation of Dignitaries
Lighting of Lamp
Address : Prof. Biswajit Chatterjee , President BEA
Inaugural Address: Professor Mihir Kanti Rakshit,
Director,Monetary Policy Research, ICRA,Kolkata

Release of Souvenir & Artha Beekshan

Presidential Address: Prof. Ramgopal Agarwala

Rapporteurs: Sm Ankita Das and Dr.R.L.Basu

Dr. S.N. Sen Memorial Lecture
Chairperson : Prof.Biswajit Chatterjee
Speaker : Prof Dipankar Coondoo, Formerly of ISI, Kolkata
Rapporteur : Dr.Arpita Ghose

Vote of Thanks : Prof. Santanu Ghosh, Secretary ,BEA.

13.00-14.00: Lunch

14.00- 15.00 : 6th Prof A.K.DasguptaMemorial Lecture

Chairperson : Dr.Alaknanda Patel
Speaker : Prof . V.R.Panchamukhi

Rapporteurs : Dr.Purba Chattopadhyay, and Prof.Pranab Kumar Chattopadhyay

15.00- 15.20 :Tea Break

15-20– 16.30 : Current Topic Discussion on Approach to XII Five Year Plan
Chairperson : Professor Raj Kumar Sen ,Chairman IIDS,Kolkata
Panelists : Dr.Pronab Sen, Prof.Ajitava Roychaudhuri , Prof Anup Sinha, Dr.B.P.Shyamroy, and Professor Biswajit Chatterjee

Rapporteurs : Dr.Srijit Chaudhuri and Sri Abhijit Mondal

16-30 -17-45 : Current Topic Discussion on Census of India, 2011
Chairman: Professor Dhirendra Nath Konar, Kalyani University
Panelists: Professor C.R.Malakar, Professor Banhisikha Ghosh,and Dr. Arindam Banik

Rapporteur : Dr.Suvranshu Pan

19-02-2012 (Sunday)

10.00-13.00 : Technical Sessions (Parallel Sessions)

I. Agrarian Crisis in India

Chairperson : Dr.Prakash Bakshi,Chairman NABARD.
Co-Chairperson : Sri Subhas Seraphim,DGM,NABARD,Kolkata
Keynote Speaker : Dr. Srijit Misra, IGIDR,Mumbai
Theme Paper : DR.Joydeb Sasmal,KK. Das College,Kolkata
Rapporteurs : Sm Anasuya Kar and Sri Souvik Chakraborty
Other Speakers : Suhas Roy, Jayanta Hajra, Dipyaman Pal and Arpita Ghose,
Tushar Das, Chandreyee Gupta,Tapan Purkait, Debesh Mukhopadhyay, Sebak Kumar Jana, Anindita Sengupta,Suvranshu Pan, Dr. Pranay Kumar Roy Barman,Anath Bandhu Mukherjee

II.Industrialisation in West bengal

Chairperson : Dr .Father Felix Raj,Principal,St Xaviers’College,Kolkata
Keynote Speaker :Professor Abhirup Sarkar,ERU,ISI,Kolkata
Rapporteur : Sujatra Bhattacharya
Other Speakers : Dr. M. Zainul Abedin, Dr. Pranab Kumar Bhattacharyya, Abhay Sankar Sahu, Chandan Roy,Sanchari Roy Mukherjee and Santanu Ghosh, Dr. Dhiraj Kr. Bandyopadhyay

III.International Capital Flows,Growth and Development
Chairperson : Professor Kalyan Sanyal,University of Calcutta
Co-Chairperson :Professor Basabi Bhattacharya,Jadavpur University
Keynote Speaker : Professor Rajat Acharyya,Jadavpur University
Theme Paper :Professor Soumen Sikdar,IIM,Kolkata
Rapporteur : Sri Hiranya Lahiri
Other Speakers : Rev. Dr. J. Felix Raj S.J. and Samrat Roy, Asim K. Karmakar, Seemita Bose Chowdhury, Dr. Biswambhar Mandal, Dr. Swapan Kumar Roy, Samrat Roy and Saswati Chaudhuri, Soumasree Tewari and Basabi Bhattacharya,Rajib Bhattacharyya,Dr. Dipika Basu and Dr. Arun Kumar Nandi, Hiranya Lahiri, Dr.Debesh Bhowmik, Mokshada Jain,Nidhi Agarwal,Shikha Binani, and Aruni Mitra, Rilina Basu (Banerjee) and R.N.Nag,Suvranshu Pan, Ankita Das.

13.00-13.45 : Lunch
13-45- 14-15 :Special Session on Artha Beslesan
Speaker :Dr.Ranjan N.Nag

14-15- 15-15 :Prof Biplab Dasgupta Memorial Lecture
Chairperson:Professor Asis Kumar Banerjee
Speaker :Professor Amitabh Kundu, CSRD,JNU,New Delhi
Topic : Facts and Artifacts of Urbanisation in India

15-15- 15-30 :Tea Break

15.30 -16-45 :Valedictory session
Chairperson :Professor Biswajit Chatterjee,President BEA.
Valedictory Address :Professor Sukhadeo Thorat,Chairman, ICSSR,New Delhi
Rapporteur : Dr.Dhiraj Bandyopadhyay


FEBRUARY 18-19, 2012

Artha Beekshan

Membership Forms


Designed by : Braindrops